Religious Education

Key Stage Three

Students in years 7, 8 and 9, as of September 2022, receive a one-hour lesson each week.  Currently, year 9 have 2 lessons each week.

Topics Covered:

Year 7:

Students start the year learning about some of the earliest stories in the Bible, all of which link to the religions of Christianity, Judaism and Islam.  The focus for each story is the morals being conveyed, allowing for self-reflection of students’ own moral compass.  Students will learn about the key beliefs and practices of Sikhism, including Sikhism in Britain.  They will also explore the theme of faith and courage, learning about the life of Moses and Anne Frank.

Year 8:

Students explore issues of creation – Christian views and scientific views; environmental problems and responsibility; animal uses and abuse; wealth and poverty.  Christian teachings on all these themes will be explored and contrasted with personal views.

Students also study the key beliefs, teachings and practices of Islam.

Year 9:

All students begin to study the GCSE RE course. Topics include:

Religion, Peace and Conflict – exploring issues of war, violence, terrorism, peaceful means of resolution and Christian attitudes.  

Christian beliefs and teachings – Trinity, Creation, Incarnation, Crucifixion, Resurrection, Ascension, Atonement, Sin, Salvation, Judgement.

Religion and Life Issues – Creation and origins of human life; environmental problems and responsibility; the use and abuse of animals; abortion; euthanasia and life after death. 

NB. This will change as of September 2022.  An update will follow closer to the time.

Key Stage Four:

All students continue to study at least one hour each week of core RE/Citizenship/PSHEe.  Some students continue to follow the AQA GCSE course in Religious Education and receive two or three hours of teaching each week, depending on the structure of their year 9 RE delivery.

Topics covered: GCSE RE

Topics covered: Core RE

The Elton High School